2001-12-10, 11:42 p.m.,

Dont know what it is about this song that gets me everytime i hear it, i was telling maxine about it tonight...run away to wichita...

I adore soul coughing...

TRUE DREAMS OF WICHITA

Signal got lost to the satellite

Got lost in the

Rideup to the

Plungedown;

Man sends the ray of the electric light

Sends the impulse

Through the air

Down to home

And you can stand

On the arms

Of the Williamsburg Bridge

Crying

Hey man, well this is Babylon

And you can fire out on a bus

To the outside world

Down to Louisiana

You can take her with you

I've seen the

Rains of the real world

Come forward on the plain

I've seen the Kansas of your sweet little myth

You've never seen it, no,

I'm half sick on the drinks you mixed

Through your

True dreams

Of Wichita

Brooklyn like a sea in the asphalt stalks

Push out dead air from a parking garage

Where you stand with the keys and your cool hat of silence

Where you grip her love like a driver's liscense

I've seen you

Fire up the gas in the engine valves

I've seen your hand turn saintly on the radio dial

I've seen the airwaves

Pull your eyes towards heaven

Outside Topeka in the phone lines

Her good teeth smile was winding down

Engine sputters ghosts out of gasoline fumes

They say You had it, but you sold it

You didn't want it, no

I'm half drunk on static you transmit

Through your

True dreams

Of Wichita

Prev, Next

- - 2007-06-08
My absenteeism - 2007-05-24
Defining Yourself - 2007-03-19
odd sort of flatness - 2007-03-06
Welcome Home - 2007-02-27

Diaryrings:

newest entry older entries guestbook email me diaryland evilgnome designs