2006-05-29, 10:39 a.m.,

Got an email this morning from a friend of mine who's in Paris at the moment. I have to admit that on a morning like this one, Paris sounds divine. Fair enough I�ve adjusted to the climate and from my New York beginnings I wouldn�t have normally thought this morning was cold, but now that I�ve been in Aussie land for a handful of years, I have to admit I feel chilled much faster than I normally would back in the US.

But I really loved Paris, despite the fact I was there when it was mid January, freezing cold, raining and snowing together and grey grey grey. Still I loved everything about being there and would go back in a heartbeat. Event the worst parts about it (the expense and the weather and such) are still very much funny memories. It didn�t matter that it was so expensive because it makes a good story to tell about the time we bought two cups of coffee just because we were so cold and desperately needed a bathroom ended up costing us about 16 dollars. How you have to pay to use the bathrooms in caf�s even when you buy things from the shop.

How after walking around all day in the rain and snow with numb feet and aching bodies we decided to watch a movie and warm up, thaw out and just have a seat for 2 hours. The only one we could find in English (subtitled in French) was ironically �Lost in Translation� and event hat movie for 2 was about 60 dollars, but so well worth it at the time.

So I suppose this morning I was thinking that if you�re going to be so bloody cold and shivering and holding a cup of coffee to keep your hands warm, might as well do it somewhere like Paris.

Prev, Next

- - 2007-06-08
My absenteeism - 2007-05-24
Defining Yourself - 2007-03-19
odd sort of flatness - 2007-03-06
Welcome Home - 2007-02-27

Diaryrings:

newest entry older entries guestbook email me diaryland evilgnome designs