2006-08-16, 10:52 p.m.,

I realise this is going to make me sound like a completely horrible person, but I am so unbearably sick of being bombarded with wedding bullshit I could puke.

This morning I woke up with a pretty bad hangover and had to go get my grandmother from the airport. The entire way to the airport I'm in the car with my mom and she's grilling me about last night with Brian.

"So would you say that you would never date men again, or do you think maybe you're bi or what?"
"no mom, I don't think I'm ever going to date men again."
"oh, I'm happy as long as your happy, I'm just curious."


It's sad. Then I'm putting together my sister's wedding favours and they have this little quote on them that says:
"A life lived alone, with passing strangers or passing
lovers, is incoherent and ultimately unbearable. Someone must be
there to know what we have done for those we love. "

What a way to make people who aren't married feel like shit. Perhaps I'm just really jaded about the wedding thing, partially because I'm jaded about marriages in general and partially because my family never made such a huge fucking fuss about mine. I just don't buy that my mom sat down every person who walked through the door and made them look through the photos or watch the videos. I guess it's worse because my brother got married a few months ago as well and I have to watch both videos and go through both sets of photos over and over.

And to top it off I'm getting a billion questions about nicole and max.

"So hows nicole, are you guys just dating or what? Will we get to meet her or what?"

"When you and max did the wedding thing, was it like this or that, etc. shame about her, we really liked her. We were so hurt when you told us you split up. So what's nicole like?"

Then in the car my mom says "I hope this wedding stuff doesn't upset you. I always thought that when you get married you don't go it because you love them, you do it because you make a promise to them to accept them for all their qualities and all their faults. ANd I just know that when you fidn the right person you'll both be happy and know that you can spend your lives enjoying each other for who you are both good and bad"

What the fuck?

I'm ready to climb the walls.

I'm just over the running around like mad, I miss my Sydney life. I know it's selfish and all but I'm so keen to just go to my friends party in a few days and get my ass home.

And I'm starting to stress about all the work I'm not finishing.

On the plus side I have been confirm as travel media to go to cambodia immediately following my thailand trip in October.

Prev, Next

- - 2007-06-08
My absenteeism - 2007-05-24
Defining Yourself - 2007-03-19
odd sort of flatness - 2007-03-06
Welcome Home - 2007-02-27

Diaryrings:

newest entry older entries guestbook email me diaryland evilgnome designs