2003-02-10, 1:44 p.m.,

"In Germany they came first for the Communists, and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Communist, Then they came for the Jews, and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Jew. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a trade unionist. Then the came for the Catholics, and I didn't speak up because I was a Protestant. Then they came for me, and by that time there was no one left to speak up." --attributed to Martin Niemoeller.

I was just talking to maxine about that quote a few days ago and strangly it popped up as someone's signature. We were talking about how much freedom and privacy people are willing to give up in the name of "national security", it's absolutely dumbfounding. Australia sent out this package to every home (spent billions of dollars producing it in multiple languages, it includes a handbook and fridge magnet and all otheer kinds of trash and trinkets providing a number to "report terroristic or suspicious behaviour." How obscene is that? We were wondering what the difference is between this and WW2 when they asked all citizens to "report friends and family that are suspicious" really, what is suspicious behaviour? Digging a hole in your back yard? Having guests over at 4 a.m.? Sending out multiple parcels in one week? Walking your dog at the same time everyday? Going outside in your bathrobe to get the newspaper?

A man on the radio a few days ago metioned returning the packets unopend to the sender, (in this case the australian government.)

I came home a few days ago to find our unopened on the living room table with words such as No Junk Mail and Propaganda Not Welcome Here written across it ont he top in big bold letters was written "RETURN TO SENDER"

I love that girl of mine.

Prev, Next

- - 2007-06-08
My absenteeism - 2007-05-24
Defining Yourself - 2007-03-19
odd sort of flatness - 2007-03-06
Welcome Home - 2007-02-27

Diaryrings:

newest entry older entries guestbook email me diaryland evilgnome designs