2006-05-16, 12:07 p.m.,

I've realised that I still haven't put my Nimbin photos on the diary yet. I will, dear friends, I will. I will add it to my list of all the things I know I should do that I just haven�t been bothered with because I�ve been too distracted by the rest of the world. Lump it together with sorting out my driver�s license from Yankee land and getting my stupid headshot taken so I can put it on the back of my book which has been �being published� now for what�s probably close to a year.

My mom sent me all the photos from my brother�s wedding and it did make me really homesick. I feel so bad that I couldn�t go. Especially not with the trip I just made to NY in December and I have Hawaii in August and my sister�s wedding in NY in September. Gwennie is just not that rich to buy oh so many airline tickets. I think I need to make very good friends with more airline PR folks who are willing to give me tickets. Speaking of being given things, I�ve realised that I have been so heavily supplied with cosmetics and hair products and nail polish that I could nearly open my own pharmacy. And the funny thing about it is that they have no bearing whatsoever on my magazine. I reckon I do have it pretty good here. 8 different mags being published in one building and a lot I mean A LOT of freebies get sent here everyday. By the boxloads because companies what us to write about their products. I can�t remember the last time I�ve bought cosmetics or shampoo. Seriously well over a year.

No I�m also aware enough to realise how unfair it is to people in the world who don�t get anything for free. It�s really a shame how it works. But are there places you can go to donate cartons of make up, nail polish, hotel vouchers, etc? I received a gift certificate for a few free scuba diving lessons and the thought of scuba diving, although nice in theory would probably freak me out so I donated it to a charity auction to raise money for Oxfam today. Made me feel good about it, but there�s still the nail polish issue....

Besides, I don�t think I need scuba diving this year. I�ve already gone outside my realm of atypical activity in one year�s time by swimming with sharks, hot air ballooning, sea kayaking with dolphins, walking on glass off the sky tower, helicopter travel, snorkelling at the barrier reef, taking a train across the country, a few strange and stressful overseas Asian adventures..yeah, I�ve definitely got nothing to complain about. And I might say that I�m pretty proud of myself for taking on all the weird things I would never normally consider.

Anyway, all that aside, I seriously need to move on to my next hurdle to tackle. Having to move. Eek! With the house we currently live in going under renovation in August, I don�t foresee it being a very liveable place. I swear I am so bloody sick of moving I could just puke. I really really wish I could just buy a place and get over it all. I really think that I would be willing to buy something simply so I would never have to move ever again.

Prev, Next

- - 2007-06-08
My absenteeism - 2007-05-24
Defining Yourself - 2007-03-19
odd sort of flatness - 2007-03-06
Welcome Home - 2007-02-27

Diaryrings:

newest entry older entries guestbook email me diaryland evilgnome designs